All About Adaptations: New Podcast Episode

So I’m back on the podcast, after a much-needed break, and I have some fun content planned for the rest of October. This week, I’m revisiting a piece I wrote back in June, and that was published by Book Riot during my brief stint as a contributor there.

I started thinking about this piece because my other, more official podcast, Pop DNA is planning our first annual film awards bonus episode, and one of the categories we are asking listeners to vote on is best literary adaptation. 

The movies we selected for this category cover a wide range of adaptation types or philosophies. I’ve had conversations with people who didn’t like some of these nominated adaptations because of the adaptation style, which I just find so interesting. 

I’ve also recently watched a couple of literary adaptations that I thought were very well-done, though they weren’t what some more traditionalist adaptation fans would deem as “accurate.” The practice of calling an adaptation “accurate” as a measure of its quality, by the way, really rankles me. Accurate to what? The plot points of the work it’s based on? That’s all well and good, but that’s not the only measure that matters.

But I digress. You can read the original post here, or listen to the podcast episode here or here.

What matters to YOU in a film or TV adaptation of your favorite book?

Which of the four adaptation styles I mentioned do you tend to gravitate toward?

Or is there another style you prefer?

Let me know in the comments!


Listen to new episodes of the Rhonda With A Book Podcast every Thursday, and get even more bonus content through my Patreon. Thanks for listening, and as always, happy reading!

Leave a comment